Emotional Intelligence

I can measure the strength of a man by their emotional intelligence, NOT their IQ.

Most of you who have subscribed to my newsletter are either entrepreneurs or hard-working men looking to build a better life.

Now I believe that as a man, you will endlessly face obstacles throughout your life.

Why not build a framework that attends to those obstacles in the best way possible?

Now let me dive into emotional intelligence.

2 years ago I was faced with a stressful issue…

I was working an only commissions job. That was my only source of income.

Someone that worked beside me, was looking to siphon me out by lying about specific events that happened in a company I previously used to work for.

He was doing that purely for selfish reasons, because I was the top-performing salesman, he wanted to take over some of my lead acquisition times.

The man attempting to take me out was in a higher position than me, he was closer to the founder and had the high ground over me.

Funny enough, I was reading the book The Art of War.

While reading through, one phrase stood out…

“Amid war, utilize the right emotions to have an upper hand on your opponent”

Now the natural emotion that comes to mind for a situation like this would be Anger or playing the victim.

But a man who holds high emotional intelligence can use his emotions to his advantage to benefit from the situation.

So what did I do?

The emotional state I gathered up was the emotion of carelessness. While being so careless about the issue, I gathered as much data as possible against him so that whenever I’d be called out about issues, I’d always be prepared.

I was able to walk out of that issue with a new project and the boss gave me a higher position at work after that event.

So remember… those high-stress moments are bad if you make it bad to yourself.

So what does this mean to you?

You need to be INTENTIONAL when you utilize your emotions.

Remember that if you can self-regulate emotions and use them to your benefit, your experience as an entrepreneur is much more pleasant.

You will ALWAYS face problems throughout your life.

But the root of it is how you deal with those issues and how you react to them.

This game is a game of war, and those that are best at war, understand that if one wants to win…. they must master their own mind.

Keep going man

-JP